Caro: Potato and Sour Cream Biscuits

Why, hello there. Guess what. I made us biscuits!

potato and sour cream biscuits

Pretty, pretty potato biscuits.

potato and sour cream biscuits

Truth: I’ve spent the last week in a sort of state of general breakdown punctuated by existential crises and episodes of relentless self-analysis. It’s hard to explain. Suffice it to say that I’m feeling lost in oodles of ways and have been kind of hard on myself. It’s the classic “What’s my purpose in life?” with some “Why can’t I just be more like (insert one of various role models)?!” and a little “I should disregard who others influence me to be and focus on who I really want to be… except that I have no idea who that is!” stirred in for good measure… only 10 times more intense.

Thoughts like this have made occasional stops in my mind in the past, for sure, but they’ve never invaded it for an entire week like this. It’s been weird and kind of rough.

But, a few things have been helpful.

1. These two songs on repeat:
“Dancing in the Dark” – Bruce Springsteen. The BOSS. I am actually in love with him.
“Carousel” – Vanessa Carlton. I mean… just beautiful.

2. The Mindy Project. Anything that takes my mind off life and gifts me with 22-ish minutes of out-loud laughter is so welcome right now.

3. These biscuits. You saw that coming, right?

potato and sour cream biscuits

Oh, these biscuits. They are, like… the comfort food to end all comfort foods for me. Because biscuits are tender, buttery pillows of love, and because, well, I ADORE Yukon Gold mashed potatoes more than you could ever even imagine, due to a steady stream of this food making its way from my abuela’s kitchen to my tummy when I was a wee one… and because what we have here are biscuits that taste JUST like Yukon Gold mashed potatoes. For real! I totally did not expect the level of potato flavor these biscuits delivered… surprise score. This is probably not nearly as exciting to the average person as it is to me. But for moi, they were absolutely perfect.

potato and sour cream biscuits

And they are just so darn cute. I think. Man, I love biscuits. I ate two of these straight out of the oven (topped with a pat of butter and sprinkled with extra salt, duh) and settled into bed for a sunset nap. It was the loveliest late afternoon in the midst of my crazy week. Exactly what I needed. And they were easy as pie to make. (Wait… why do people say “easy as pie”? Pie’s hardly the easiest baking project I can think of. Anyway…)

Your turn now! Go buy some cheap ingredients and make potato biscuits. Or your own favorite comfort food. Relax this afternoon. Thank me later.

__________________________________________________

Potato and Sour Cream Biscuits

These were just a little more dense than your traditional buttermilk biscuits, due to the method of ingredient-mixing. They were almost a bit chewy, I guess, though I hate that word for them and would NOT call them that unless I was speaking in terms relative to regular biscuits, like I am now. They’re still delicious and super tender… and the benefit of this bit of extra heft is that they stand up nicely to use in breakfast sandwiches, which I highly recommend them for. SO. good.

Recipe
Adapted from Noble Pig, whom adapted/changed the recipe from Cooking Light
Yield: 10 biscuits

Ingredients
8 ounces Yukon Gold potatoes
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 sour cream
2 tablespoons butter (not ashamed to say I made them heaping tablespoons 🙂 )
2 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt

1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.
2. Bring a quart of salted water to a boil.
3. Peel the potatoes. Or don’t… your call! Cut the potatoes into quarters or smaller pieces… whatever floats your boat, as you’ll be mashing them anyway.
4. Lower them into the boiling water and let them hang out there for 10 minutes, or until mashable with a fork.
5. Drain the water from the potatoes, and return them to the pot. Mash ’em up.
6. Add the buttermilk, sour cream, and butter to the potatoes, and mix well.
7. Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a bowl.
8. Add the potato mixture to the flour mixture and combine (GENTLY!) until it just comes together. Seriously, do not overwork the dough. Your biscuits will be hard as rocks if you do!
9. Roll out the dough until it’s about 3/4 of an inch to a full inch thick. Thicker for taller biscuits, of course, though they won’t rise too much. Potatoes be heavy.
10. Use a 2.5-inch biscuit cutter or something comparable to cut out biscuits. Gather dough scraps and re-roll out as necessary to cut out more. You should get about 10 biscuits from all the dough.
11. Bake them in the 450 degree oven for 18 minutes or until golden on top.
12. Eat warm! Butter is mandatory.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

