Caro: Breakfast Pizza with Cherry Tomatoes and White Cheddar

Let me preface this post by saying that if you are currently faced with a problem, the solution is probably breakfast pizza. Don’t believe me? Fine. I’ll prove it.

breakfast pizza with cherry tomatoes and white cheddar

See? Don’t you feel better already?! Alright. Onward.

Ok. Lately, I have been all. over. the. place. I drove up to Tampa this past Saturday and started the process of moving into a lovely little studio apartment that I get to call home for the next 6 months. In these past few days, I have realized that there exists a considerable disparity between my dream life (how things would happen in my most ideal of situations) and my real life (how things actually play out… ideal situations be damned). Let me illustrate.

Dream life: Drive up to Tampa on Saturday, buy furniture on Saturday, build it on Sunday morning (with Dad’s help), put stuff away Sunday evening/night after parents are gone, wake up on Monday morning all nice and refreshed and accomplished.
Real life: Drive up to Tampa on Saturday, buy some furniture, crash, wake up on Sunday, exchange some furniture and buy some more, run errands into the night, build furniture until 2 a.m., pass out. Wake up at 8 a.m. to greet the internet/cable guy.

Dream life: Spend Monday-Friday walking around Tampa, lounging by the pool, and making use of the fitness center in my apartment complex, since everything is purchased, organized, and in its rightful place.
Real life: Spend all of Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday running the errands and buying the things I forgot about over the weekend. Status as of Wednesday afternoon: Everything I brought from Miami or bought here is still on the floor.

Dream life: Spend the time in my apartment marveling at how very clean and new and nice it is.
Real life: Take a nap and wake up to the tickles of a family of ants crawling up my arm. Run to the bathroom to wash those suckers down the sink, only to find a dead cockroach on the floor.

Yep. It’s been a long few days over here. Given that, I was so excited to make something for my tomato week post. I figured it’d take my mind off everything left to be done and just let me focus on eating some delicious food.

Now, I’m really not a big fan of raw tomatoes… I do not understand those people who claim the little red guys are nature’s most perfect creations and insist that there is nothing better than biting into a ripe, juicy tomato. To be honest, the idea of doing that kind of makes me cringe. Cooked tomatoes, on the other hand, I love. I wanted a tomato-centric recipe for this post for obvious reasons. Enter roasted tomato soup as adapted from Bon Appetit by Deb of Smitten Kitchen. Unfortunately, the dream life/real life disparity crept right into my Tuesday evening. See here:

Dream life: Cook for the blog, since cooking relieves stress and is super fun. It’s tomato week, so I’ll make roasted tomato soup! So yum. I’ll eat the leftovers for days. Perfect.
Real life: 1. Set off the smoke alarm by preheating the oven to 400 degrees for tomato-roasting purposes. 2. Spill half my bottle of olive oil over the tomatoes in the lamest-ever attempt to drizzle. 3. Find that, despite my following the recipe to the letter, my “tomato soup” is really just a pot of chicken stock with an awkwardly separated mass of pureed roasted tomatoes on top. No, thank you.

Fail. I turned off the stove and just left the so-called soup there. I didn’t even wash dishes or anything. Super sad. I just went to sleep. Whatever.

Then I woke up today, Wednesday morning, with no food for the blog and no tomato soup for breakfast 😦 . And I realized I had a ball of Trader Joe’s pizza dough in the fridge with a sell-by date of… today. And tomatoes go on pizza! SO I MADE PIZZA!

I know tomatoes are not the key ingredient here. Sorry not sorry. It’s PIZZA, you guys. Don’t complain.

Pizza is, like, my favorite food ever. Even bad pizza is still bread, cheese, (cooked) tomato, and toppings. HELLO. You cannot mess this up. AND, since it was before 11 a.m., I made BREAKFAST pizza. If you don’t think pizza can get any better, put an egg on it. Just. do. it.

breakfast pizza with cherry tomatoes and white cheddar

And, just so you know, real life was totally in action here, too. As in, I forgot to pack my rolling pin… so instead of being the very picture of domestic-ness, I got to roll out my pizza dough with an empty bottle of cava. Yes. I really did that.

Real life. It is always going to happen. But… if the worst of your problems amount to a messy apartment, annoying insects, and kitchen-tool-related improvisation… life is pretty darn good.

So, take deep breaths, think happy thoughts, shrug off them worries, eat pizza. Repeat.

breakfast pizza with cherry tomatoes and white cheddar

Today was a good day.

__________________________________________________

Breakfast Pizza with Cherry Tomatoes and White Cheddar

There is only one rule here: You must add eggs to your pizza to make it breakfast pizza. Other than that, feel free to switch it up. Put some pesto on it, add garlic, omit the cheese. The latter may beg the question, “WHY?!” But to each his own. Make this the pizza of your dreams.

I pre-roasted the tomatoes, because I wanted them to be practically falling apart by the time I ate the pizza. If you want your tomatoes to retain some structure, skip the pre-roasting and put the raw halved/slices tomatoes right onto the pizza before baking.

Recipe
Inspired by this photograph
Yield: About 6 servings

Ingredients
1 pint cherry tomatoes
4 tablespoons olive oil, divided (2, 1, 1)
1 teaspoon fine sea salt
A bit of flour (for rolling out pizza dough)
1 ball pizza dough (I used Trader Joe’s, but if you wanna make your own, this recipe is a winner.)
1 teaspoon dried oregano
4 ounces white cheddar
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
5-6 eggs (one per person/serving)

1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
2. Slice the cherry tomatoes or cut them in half. I cut each into three pieces. (Halves were too big for me, and I was too lazy for actual slices.)
3. Arrange them on a cookie sheet (or any kind of pan, really). Drizzle 2 tablespoons of olive oil over them, and sprinkle the teaspoon of sea salt over them as well.
3. Roast tomatoes in the oven for 10 minutes. Remove and set aside. Lower the oven heat to 350 degrees
4. Flour your work surface and roll out your pizza dough to the shape of the pan you’ll be baking it on. I used a cookie sheet. No rules here.
5. Spread a tablespoon of oil onto your pizza-baking pan, and carefully move the pizza dough over to the pan.
6. Spread the last tablespoon of oil over the pizza dough, and scatter the dried oregano over it, too.
7. Retrieve the pan of pre-roasted tomatoes (or the raw tomatoes if you skipped the pre-roasting). Arrange them artfully over the pizza dough.
8. Top the pizza with the cheese and chopped fresh basil.
9. Bake the pizza in the 350-degree oven for about 15 minutes.
10. Remove the pizza, keep the oven on, and carefully (carefully!) crack the eggs onto the pizza. Do your best to contain the rebellious egg whites… they will try to run off.
11. Return the pizza to the oven for another 5-10 minutes, or until the eggs set.
12. Remove the pizza from the oven, let it cool, top with more salt and/or dried oregano if desired, and enjoy. Breakfast, elevated.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Caro: Breakfast Pizza with Cherry Tomatoes and White Cheddar

  1. sani panini says:

    This looks and sounds amazing!

  2. Caro Peguero says:

    thank you!! it was delicious 🙂 and so easy to customize. you should try it!

Leave a Reply

